Aircraft Safety Certification and Reliability Analysis Techniques

Classic reliability analysis techniques, namely, Reliability Prediction, Fault Tree Analysis (FTA) and Failure Mode and Effects Analysis (FMEA) are the framework for the aircraft certification process. These innovative techniques have been utilized since the 1990s with the advent of the Society of Automotive Engineer’s Aerospace Recommended Practice 4761 (SAE ARP 4761). Today, SAE ARP 4761 is the defacto standard used for aircraft certification. SAE ARP 4761 draws heavily on reliability techniques with roots steeped in the military programs of the 20th century.

Topics Covered:
  • Reliability prediction as the backbone of reliability analysis
  • FMEA (Failure Mode And Effects Analysis)
  • Fault Tree Analyses (FTA)
  • Reliability Analyses and ARP 4761

Want to learn more?